Export Event


Monday, January 11, 2016 - Tuesday, January 12, 2016
at 9am–5:30pm


Homewood Campus

The second Biennial Science of Learning  Institute Symposium and 4th Annual Gateway Sciences Initiative Excellence in Teaching and Learning in the Sciences Symposium will be held January 11-12, 2016.  Distinguished scientists and practitioners will highlight cutting-edge research on learning (including approaches from neuroscience, cognitive science, psychology, computer science, engineering, and education) and pioneering pedagogical innovations.  

Science of Learning Symposium Videos:  Click here to view the Day 1 presentations.

Program:  See below for a list of speakers and click here to view our program.

Day 1: Science of Learning Symposium January 11, 2016 

  • Richard Huganir - Professor and Director of the Solomon H. Snyder Department of Neuroscience; Director of the Kavli Neuroscience Discovery Institute; and Co-Director of the Johns Hopkins Medicine Brain Science Institute, Johns Hopkins University
  • Alan Yuille - Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Computer Science, Johns Hopkins University
  • Ed Connor - Professor of the Solomon H. Snyder Department of Neuroscience; Director of the Zanvyl Krieger Mind/Brain Institute, Johns Hopkins University
  • Elissa Newport - Professor of Neurology; Director of the Center for Brain Plasticity and Recovery, Georgetown University
  • Katherine Kinzler - Associate Professor of Psychology; Associate Professor of Human Development, Cornell University 
  • Jason Eisner - Professor of Computer Science, Johns Hopkins University
  • Bruce McCandliss - Professor of the Graduate School of Education; Department of Psychology; and Stanford Neuroscience Institute, Stanford University 
  • Brenda Rapp - Chair and Professor of Cognitive Science, Johns Hopkins University
  • Jonathan Plucker - Julian C. Stanley Endowed Professor of Talent Development, Johns Hopkins University

Day 2: Gateway Sciences Initiative Excellence in Teaching and Learning in the Sciences Symposium January 12, 2016

  • David Asai, Director of Precollege and Undergraduate Science Education, Howard Hughes Medical Institute 
  • Melanie Cooper, Lappan-Phillips Chair of Science Education, Michigan State University
  • Eileen Haase, Senior Lecturer, Department of Biomedical Engineering, Johns Hopkins University
  • Robert Leheny, Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Johns Hopkins University
  • Steven Luck, Professor and Director, Center for Mind and Brain, University of California Davis 
  • Tyrel McQueen, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, Johns Hopkins University
  • Sheri Sheppard, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Stanford University