Dr. Robert Blum

SLI Title

William H. Gates Sr. Professor & Chair, Dept. of Population, Family & Reproductive Health; Dir., Urban Health Institute


Dr. Robert W. Blum, MD, MPH, PhD, is the William H. Gates, Sr. Professor and Chair of the Department of Population, Family and Reproductive Health, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. He has edited two books, and has written nearly 250 journal articles, book chapters and special reports.

In July 2007, Dr. Blum was named the Director of the Johns Hopkins Urban Health Institute. He is a Past-President of the Society for Adolescent Medicine; has served on the American Board of Pediatrics; was a charter member of the Sub-Board of Adolescent Medicine is a past chair of the Alan Guttmacher Institute Board of Directors and served as chair of the National Academy of Sciences Committee on Adolescent Health and Development. In 2006, The National Academy of Sciences’ Institute of Medicine elected Dr. Blum into membership. He is a consultant to The World Bank and UNICEF as well as the World Health Organization where he has served on the Technical Advisory Group of the Child and Adolescent Health Department as well as the Scientific and Technical Advisory Group of the Human Reproductive Program. He has been awarded the Society for Adolescent Medicine’s Outstanding Achievement Award (1993); and in 1998 was the recipient of the American Public Health Association’s Herbert Needleman Award “for scientific achievement and courageous advocacy” on behalf of children and youth.

Dr. Blum received the Vince Hutchins Partnership Award from the Maternal and Child Health Bureau in 2010.  He has been nominated for Golden Apple Award (for small class size), Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health Student Assembly, 2008 Elected Member, National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Medicine Best Doctors in America, 2006 Lifetime Achievement Award, American Medical Student Association, 2005 Herbert Needleman Award, American Public Health Association, 1997 Outstanding Achievement Award, Society for Adolescent Medicine, 1993.